Congras, congrats and congratulations abound today as two prizes dropped some news! African literature wins!

Most notable this year is how both prizes have past winners in the short list.

Caine Prize 2016 Shortlist

The prize is for African short stories published in the five years preceding the submissions deadline. Good luck to the writers. The winner will be announced in July.

The Shortlist

Abdul Adan (Somalia/Kenya) for ‘The Lifebloom Gift’ published in The Gonjon Pin and Other Stories: The Caine Prize for African Writing 2014 (New Internationalist, United Kingdom, 2014).

Lesley Nneka Arimah (Nigeria) for ‘What it Means When a Man Falls From the Sky’ published in Catapult (Catapult, USA, 2015).

Tope Folarin (Nigeria) for ‘Genesis’ published in Callaloo (Johns Hopkins University Press, USA, 2014).

Bongani Kona (Zimbabwe) for ‘At your Requiem’ published in Incredible Journey: Stories That Move You (Burnet Media, South Africa, 2015).

Lidudumalingani (South Africa) for ‘Memories we Lost’ published in Incredible Journey: Stories That Move You (Burnet Media, South Africa, 2015).

Passed winners are Kenya’s Okwiri Oduor, Nigeria’s Tope Folarin,  Nigeria’s Rotimi Babatunde, Zimbabwe’s NoViolet Bulawayo, Sierra Leone’s Olufemi Terry, Nigeria’s EC Osondu, South Africa’s Henrietta Rose-Innes, Uganda’s Monica Arac de Nyeko, South Africa’s Mary Watson, Nigeria’s Segun Afolabi, Zimbabwe’s Brian Chikwava, Kenya’s Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor, Kenya’s Binyavanga Wainaina, Nigeria’s Helon Habila, Sudan’s Leila Aboulela.

Brunel University African Poetry Prize 2016 Winners

Announcing via their website, today, the annual Brunel University African Poetry Prize went to two poets. NAIJA STAND UP! 👏🏾 👏🏾 👏🏾 🏾

GBENGA ADESINA who is based in Nigeria has been featured on the Poetry Foundation, Jalada, Prairie Schooner and Brittle Paper as well as other publishing. He has a chapbook titled Painter of Water out published the African Poetry Book Fund.

Adesina’s poems are powerfully political, beautiful and truly searing. This is a poet with a compelling voice addressing concerns of injustice, memory, migration and family.” word form the judges

CHEKWUBE O. DANLADI is Nigerian born and raised but is based in the USA where she’s studying towards her MFA in Fiction at the University of Illinois.

Danladi’s poems are glorious, risky, ambitious and fresh. There is a powerful sense of social justice and serious engagement with contemporary and historical African concerns.” word from teh judges

The winning poems can be read on the African Poetry Prize website

The winners were picked from a short list that included Victoria-Anne Bulley (Ghana); Mary-Alice Daniel (Nigeria); Amy Lukau (Angola); Ngwatilo Mawiyoo (Kenya); Momtaza Mehri(Eritrea/Somalia); Saradha Soobrayen (Mauritius); Warsan Shire (Somalia) and Chimwemwe Undi (Zambia/Zimbabwe/Namibia)

Past winners were:
2013 Warsan Shire (Somalia)
2014 Liyou Libsekal (Ethiopia)
2015 Safia Elhillo (Sudan) & Nick Makoha (Uganda)


views, reviews and interviews about books we love.

(Visited 110 times, 1 visits today)