Mary Ononokpono has been awarded first place for her story, “Firewater”. Osemegbe Aito and Tina Chiwashira take second and third place respectively!

The Short Story is Dead, Long Live the Short Story! prides itself in providing a testing ground for emerging African writing. In the last two years, we have given voice to new writers whose trialling work might otherwise have ended up languishing in unget-at-able zines or lost to the cacophony of online publications, even as we firmly believe it is in the nooks and crooks of niche spaces like Omenana, Jungle Jim and Will This Be a Problem that we find the most clear indication as to which direction African literature might be going.

read more – Winners for “The Short Story is Dead, Long Live the Short Story!” Prize Announced — the Blog of Black Letter Media


views, reviews and interviews about books we love.

(Visited 161 times, 1 visits today)